Very little is needed to make a happy life; it is all within yourself, in your way of thinking. I’ve learned that asking questions isn’t a sign of weakness; rather, it demonstrates curiosity, engagement and intelligence."

Kerala Flood



For The First Time This Year, Govt Will Give Out Khel Ratna Award To Four Athletes

As the world's biggest sporting extravaganza comes to an end, the government of India announced the National Sports Awards 2016. 
The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports has released a list of sportspersons and coaches who will be awarded for their spectacular contribution in the field of sports.
The awardees will receive the honours from the President of India at a specially organised function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2016.
Here is the full list:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

It is considered to be the highest sporting award in the country. The awardees receive a cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakh each. It is the for the first time ever that the government will confer this award to four athletes.
The winners are:
PV Sindhu - Badminton 

A file photo of PV Sindhu | Source: PTI
Being the only silver medalist from India this year, the 21-year-old shuttler from Hyderabad has now become a nation-wide sensation for her spectacular performance at the Rio Olympics.

Sakshi Malik - Wrestling 

A file photo of Sakshi Malik | Source: PTI
While India's favourite male wrestling stars failed to make any mark in this year's Games, Sakshi Malik, a young girl from Haryana, won the nation's hearts with her bronze.
Jitu Rai - Shooting 

A file photo of Jitu Rai | Source: PTI
Although he wasn't quite lucky at the Games, the ace shooter of Nepalese origin has had a wonderful stint in major tournaments like World Cup, Commonwealth Games and Asian Games.
Dipa Karmakar - Gymnastics 

A file photo of Dipa Karmakar | Source: PTI
The fact that she became the first woman gymnast to represent India at the Olympics and the third woman in the world to have performed Produnuva, a difficult gymnastic vault was more than enough to get her the prized trophy.  

Dronacharya Awards

It is the award given for excellence in sports coaching. The awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs 5 lakh each.
Here is the list:
Nagapuri Ramesh - Athletics
Sagar Mal Dhayal - Boxing
Raj Kumar Sharma - Cricket

Coach Bishweshwar Nandi (left) with Dipa Karmakar | Source: PTI
Bishweshwar Nandi - Gymnastics
S. Pradeep Kumar - Swimming (Lifetime)
Mahabir Singh - Wrestling (Lifetime)

Arjuna Awards

Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years. The awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs 5 lakh each.
Here is the list:
Rajat Chauhan - Archery
Lalita Babar - Athletics
Sourav Kothari - Billiards & Snooker
Shiva Thapa - Boxing

A file photo of Ajinkya Rahane | Source: PTI
Ajinkya Rahane - Cricket
Subrata Paul - Football
Rani - Hockey
Raghunath V.R.- Hockey
Gurpreet Singh - Shooting
Apurvi Chandela - Shooting

A file photo of Subrata Paul | Source: PTI
Soumyajit Ghosh - Table Tennis
Vinesh - Wrestling
Amit Kumar - Wrestling
Sandeep Singh Mann - Para-Athletics
Virender Singh - Wrestling (Deaf)
Dhyan Chand Award 
It is India's highest award for  lifetime contribution to sports development. The awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs 5 lakh each.
Satti Geetha - Athletics
Sylvanus Dung Dung - Hockey
Rajendra Pralhad Shelke - Rowing

No comments:

Post a Comment